top of page

What are the different types of housing schemes under PMAY?

Curious about Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana

What are the different types of housing schemes under PMAY?

Under the Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (PMAY), there are primarily four types of housing schemes aimed at different segments of the population:

1. InSitu Slum Redevelopment (ISSR): This scheme focuses on the rehabilitation of slum dwellers by providing them with pucca houses within the same slum area. It aims to improve their living conditions and provide basic amenities.

2. CreditLinked Subsidy Scheme (CLSS): This scheme targets the Economically Weaker Sections (EWS), LowIncome Groups (LIG), and MiddleIncome Groups (MIG). It provides interest subsidies on home loans taken for the purchase, construction, or extension of houses. The subsidy amount depends on the income category.

3. Affordable Housing in Partnership (AHP): This scheme encourages publicprivate partnerships (PPP) to develop affordable housing projects. The government provides financial assistance to private developers or agencies for constructing houses for EWS, LIG, and MIG beneficiaries.

4. BeneficiaryLed Construction (BLC): Under this scheme, eligible beneficiaries from EWS category are provided financial assistance for the construction of houses. The assistance is given directly to the beneficiary, who can build a house on their own land or through a redevelopment project.

These housing schemes under PMAY aim to cater to different sections of society and provide affordable housing options, with subsidies and financial assistance to make homeownership more accessible for eligible individuals and families.

bottom of page