top of page

What are the different types of mortgages available?

Curious about Higher interest rate

What are the different types of mortgages available?

There are several types of mortgages available to homebuyers, and the suitability of each type depends on individual financial circumstances and preferences. Here are some of the most common types of mortgages:

1. FixedRate Mortgage (FRM): This is the most traditional type of mortgage. With an FRM, the interest rate remains constant throughout the life of the loan, typically 15, 20, or 30 years. This provides predictability and stability in monthly payments.

2. AdjustableRate Mortgage (ARM): In an ARM, the interest rate is fixed for an initial period (e.g., 5, 7, or 10 years) and then adjusts periodically based on a predetermined index. The monthly payments can change, potentially increasing or decreasing, depending on market conditions.

3. InterestOnly Mortgage: With an interestonly mortgage, borrowers only pay the interest for a specific period (usually 510 years) and do not pay down the principal. After the interestonly period, borrowers must make principal and interest payments, which may increase significantly.

4. FHA Loan: Insured by the Federal Housing Administration (FHA), these loans are designed for firsttime homebuyers and those with lower credit scores. FHA loans typically require a lower down payment and have more lenient credit requirements.

5. VA Loan: These loans are guaranteed by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs and are available to eligible veterans, activeduty service members, and certain members of the National Guard and Reserves. VA loans often require no down payment.

6. USDA Loan: Offered by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, USDA loans are designed for eligible rural and suburban homebuyers who meet income requirements. They often require no down payment.

7. Jumbo Loan: A jumbo loan is used for highpriced homes that exceed conventional loan limits. These loans typically require larger down payments and have stricter credit requirements.

8. Balloon Mortgage: In a balloon mortgage, borrowers make small monthly payments for a specified period (usually 57 years) and then must pay off the remaining balance in one lump sum, refinance, or sell the home.

9. Reverse Mortgage: Designed for seniors, reverse mortgages allow homeowners aged 62 and older to convert home equity into cash without making monthly mortgage payments. The loan is repaid when the homeowner moves, sells, or passes away.

10. Combo or Piggyback Mortgage: This involves taking out two mortgages simultaneously—a first mortgage for most of the purchase price and a second mortgage to cover the down payment. This can help borrowers avoid private mortgage insurance (PMI).

11. InterestOnly ARMs: Combining features of interestonly mortgages and adjustablerate mortgages, these loans offer an interestonly period followed by adjustablerate payments.

12. Home Equity Line of Credit (HELOC): While not a traditional mortgage, a HELOC allows homeowners to borrow against the equity in their homes. It functions as a revolving line of credit with variable interest rates.

It's important to thoroughly research and understand the terms and features of different mortgage types to choose the one that best fits your financial situation and longterm goals. Additionally, working with a qualified mortgage lender or broker can help you navigate the mortgage process and find the right loan for you.

bottom of page