top of page

What is the difference between PMAY and other housing schemes?

Curious about Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana

What is the difference between PMAY and other housing schemes?

The Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (PMAY) is a flagship housing scheme launched by the Government of India with the aim of providing affordable housing to eligible beneficiaries. While there are other housing schemes implemented by various state governments and organizations, here are some key differences between PMAY and other housing schemes:

1. Scope and Coverage:
PMAY: PMAY covers both rural and urban areas, aiming to provide housing solutions to a wide range of beneficiaries across the country. It has specific components targeting different income groups and segments, such as EWS, LIG, MIG, and slum dwellers.
Other housing schemes: Other housing schemes may have varying scopes and coverage. They may focus on specific regions, income groups, or target certain categories of beneficiaries.

2. Government Support and Subsidies:
PMAY: PMAY provides substantial government support in the form of interest subsidies, financial assistance, and other benefits. It offers interest subsidies on home loans under the CreditLinked Subsidy Scheme (CLSS) and financial assistance for construction under the Affordable Housing in Partnership (AHP) and BeneficiaryLed Construction (BLC) components.
Other housing schemes: The level of government support, subsidies, and financial assistance may vary in other housing schemes, depending on the policies and guidelines of the respective scheme.

3. Implementation and Nodal Agencies:
PMAY: PMAY is implemented by the Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs (MoHUA) at the national level. It involves coordination with state governments, urban local bodies, and various nodal agencies designated for PMAY implementation in different states and union territories.
Other housing schemes: Other housing schemes may have different implementing agencies, such as state housing boards, development authorities, or specialized organizations designated by the state governments.

4. Focus on Slum Redevelopment:
PMAY: PMAY includes specific components like the InSitu Slum Redevelopment (ISSR) scheme, which focuses on rehabilitating slum dwellers and improving their living conditions by providing pucca houses within the same slum area.
Other housing schemes: Some housing schemes may also have provisions for slum redevelopment, but the extent and focus may vary.

It's important to note that the specific differences between PMAY and other housing schemes can vary depending on the scheme in question, as there are several housing schemes implemented at different levels by various authorities. Therefore, it is advisable to refer to the specific guidelines and details of the particular housing scheme of interest for a comprehensive understanding of its features and differences from PMAY.

bottom of page